INEC Clears Ize-Iyamu, Obaseki, 17 Others For Edo Governorship Poll


The Independent National
Electoral Commission (INEC) said
it had cleared Osagie Ize-Iyamu
of Peoples Democratic Party
(PDP) and 18 others as
candidates in the Sept. 10 governorship election in Edo.
Ize-Iyamu, Obaseki and
Also cleared, according to the
commission, are Mr Godwin
Obaseki of All Progressives Congress (APC), Amos
Areloegbe, Labour Party and
Oronsaye Richard, Mega
Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP)
This is contained in the list of political parties and their
candidates for the election,
published by the commission in
a document obtained by the
News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)
in Abuja on Thursday. The document signed by the
commission’s Secretary, Mrs
Augusta Ogakwu, explained
that the clearance of Obaseki as
PDP’s candidate was based on a
court order. Other candidates on the list are
Mr Ishaka Ofemile, Action
Alliance; Mr Andrew Igewmoh,
Advanced Congress of
Democrats (ACD); Mr Cosmos
Irabor, Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) and Onaiwu
Osaro, All Progressives Grand
Alliance (APGA).
Others are Mr David Okoror,
Citizens Popular Party (CPP); Mr
Tobi Adeniyi, Independent Democrats (ID), Thompson
Osadolor, KOWA Party; Peters
Omoragbon, National
Conscience Party (NCP) and
Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena of
People for Democratic Change (PDC).
Mr Thomas Sadoh of Progressive
People Alliance (PPA), Mrs Agol
Ebun, Peoples Party of Nigeria
(PPN); Omorogieva Gbajumo,
Social Democratic Party (SDP); Shadrach Efogie, United
Progressive Party (UPP) and
Nurudeen Inwanefero of Young
Democratic Party (YDP) were also
cleared to participate.
In the document, INEC stated that the announcement of
cleared candidates for the
election was in line with Section
34 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as